FreshBooks vs QuickBooks vs Wave: True Invoicing Cost

Two people pointing at financial details on a document, highlighting invoice analysis.
Photo by Kindel Media on Pexels

Pricing for invoicing software is split across two places. One is the monthly subscription fee. The other is the per-invoice fee triggered when a customer pays it. Vendors keep the two on separate pages.

Until you put them together, you cannot tell which vendor is cheaper. A business on a free plan that takes mostly card payments can end up paying more than one on a paid plan that takes bank transfers. The table below pulls both numbers from each vendor's official pages and sets them side by side.

One thing to flag up front: QuickBooks blocks automated retrieval of its pages, so the QuickBooks figures on this page are the only ones we could not check byte-for-byte against the live source. Those entries are marked unverified in the footnotes — not because we believe the values are wrong, but because we have no way to re-confirm them.

FreshBooks · QuickBooks Online · Wave — monthly subscription fee and per-invoice payment fee in one table (confirmed on 19 August 2026)

FreshBooks · QuickBooks Online · Wave — monthly subscription fee and per-invoice payment fee in one table (confirmed on 19 August 2026)
FreshBooksQuickBooks OnlineWave
Entry plan, per monthWas $23.001$3810$0/month18
Top published plan, per monthWas $70.003$14012$19 USD/month20
Card rate on a paid invoiceStarting at 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction52.99% per transaction132.9% + $0.60 per credit card transaction19
Amex / higher-cost cardsNot publishedNot published3.4% + $0.6019
Bank transfer (ACH) on an invoice1% per transaction61% per transaction141% per transaction ($1.00 minimum fee)22
Manually keyed-in cardNot published3.5% per transaction15Not published
Buy now, pay later6% + $0.30 per transaction7Not publishedNot published
Surcharge to get paid out faster1.5% transaction fee8Not publishedNot published
Volume discount, publishedNot publishedCall about up to 25% off standard rates above $2,500 per month17Not published
Virtual terminal add-on($20/mo)4Not publishedNot published

The cheapest plan and the cheapest bill are different questions

Read the table by row and one vendor looks cheap; read it by column and a different one does. That is not a quirk of these three products — it is what happens whenever a subscription fee and a per-transaction fee are quoted separately. A free plan charges nothing until an invoice is paid, and then charges on every one. A paid plan charges every month whether you invoice or not, and may or may not lower the per-transaction rate in exchange.

The crossover depends on two things the vendors cannot know: how many invoices you send, and how your customers pay them. Card payments and bank transfers are priced very differently here, and the gap between them is wide enough that steering customers toward bank transfer changes the answer more than switching vendors does.

The rates in the table are the rates before anything special happens

Each of the card rates above is a baseline that applies to an ordinary domestic card typed by nobody — the customer clicks a link and pays. Depart from that and the rate moves: a card keyed in by hand costs more, a premium or commercial card costs more, a payout pulled forward costs more, and an installment option costs a great deal more.

Only some of those surcharges are published on the pricing pages we cite. FreshBooks documents several of its own on a help-center article rather than the pricing page, and that article is rendered client-side in a way we could not capture as a literal quote — so those figures are deliberately absent from the table rather than cited from memory. They are listed among the open questions below, which is the honest place for a number we believe exists but cannot show you.

Two of these prices are promotional, and one page will not let us check it

The subscription prices we quote are regular prices, not the discounted first-term offers that these pages lead with. That distinction matters when comparing: a first-year promotional rate and a renewal rate can differ by an order of magnitude, and the number you will actually pay in year two is the regular one.

Separately, QuickBooks blocks automated retrieval of its pricing and payment-rate pages. Our figures came through a rendered-text extraction and were cross-checked against a web archive; that cross-check caught two quotes that were not literal and both were corrected. Every QuickBooks item is nonetheless labelled unverified in the footnotes, because no path we have re-reads the live page. If a QuickBooks price matters to your decision, click the source and read it yourself — that is the one verification we cannot perform for you.

What these providers do not publish

Not disclosed by the provider

We looked for these on the provider's own pricing page and they were not there.

Blank cells in the table above

Limits of this page

These are things we did not verify, listed so you can judge the rest.

Free Founders Invoicing & Cashflow Checklist

Audit your invoicing workflow, payment terms, and automated reminders to reduce DSO (Days Sales Outstanding) and eliminate hidden processing fees.

Download Free Invoicing Checklist

FAQ

How much does FreshBooks cost per month?

At regular (non-promotional) pricing, FreshBooks' Lite plan is $23.00/mo, Plus is $43.00/mo, and Premium is $70.00/mo. A custom-priced Select plan is also available for larger teams by talking to a consultant. All three published tiers currently run limited-time promotional pricing well below these regular rates.

What are QuickBooks Online's monthly plan prices?

At regular, non-promotional pricing, QuickBooks Online's Simple Start plan is $38 per month, Essentials is $85 per month, and Plus is $140 per month; a higher-tier Advanced plan also exists with pricing shown on the same page. A limited-time introductory discount was running on all tiers at the time of research, so the price shown to a new signup will be lower for an initial period before reverting to these rates.

Is Wave accounting software really free?

Wave's Starter plan itself is $0/month with no subscription fee, but a paid Pro plan at $19 USD/month unlocks unlimited user seats, automated bank sync, and discounted card-processing rates on the first 10 transactions each month. Card and bank payment processing fees apply on both plans regardless of the subscription tier.

Which invoicing software has the lowest credit card processing fee: FreshBooks, QuickBooks, or Wave?

FreshBooks charges 2.9% + $0.30 per card transaction, Wave's free Starter plan charges 2.9% + $0.60 (or 2.9% + $0 for the first 10 transactions/month on Wave's paid Pro plan), and QuickBooks Payments charges a flat 2.99% with no added cents. On a small transaction, FreshBooks' lower flat fee ($0.30 vs $0.60) can beat both; on a larger transaction, QuickBooks' cents-free 2.99% can come out ahead of FreshBooks' 2.9%+$0.30 depending on the amount.

Do FreshBooks, QuickBooks, and Wave charge a fee for ACH/bank transfer payments?

Yes, all three charge 1% per transaction for ACH bank transfer payments: FreshBooks (1%, US customers only), QuickBooks Payments (1%), and Wave (1% with a $1.00 minimum fee). None of the three offer fee-free bank transfer payments on invoices.

Is it cheaper to use a free plan or to pay for one?

It depends less on the plan than on how your customers pay. A free plan costs nothing monthly but charges the full card rate on every paid invoice, so the bill scales with volume. A paid plan charges every month whether you invoice or not, and buys back some of the per-transaction cost. The larger lever is the payment method: on Wave a card payment costs 2.9% + $0.60 per credit card transaction while a bank transfer costs 1% per transaction ($1.00 minimum fee), and that gap is wide enough that steering customers toward bank transfer usually changes the total more than switching plans does.

What does FreshBooks Advanced Payments cost and what does it do?

FreshBooks charges $20/month for the Advanced Payments (Virtual Terminal) add-on on its Lite, Plus, and Premium plans; the custom-priced Select plan includes it at no extra charge.

What we could not verify

Sources

  1. FreshBooks' Lite plan costs $23.00 USD per month at regular (non-promotional) price. — https://www.freshbooks.com/pricing (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)
  2. FreshBooks' Plus plan costs $43.00 USD per month at regular (non-promotional) price. — https://www.freshbooks.com/pricing (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)
  3. FreshBooks' Premium plan costs $70.00 USD per month at regular (non-promotional) price. — https://www.freshbooks.com/pricing (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)
  4. FreshBooks charges a separate $20/month add-on fee for Advanced Payments (Virtual Terminal) on its Lite, Plus, and Premium plans, but includes it free on the Select plan. — https://www.freshbooks.com/pricing (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)
  5. FreshBooks Payments charges a starting rate of 2.9% plus $0.30 per credit or debit card transaction. — https://www.freshbooks.com/accept-payments (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)
  6. FreshBooks charges a flat 1% fee per transaction for ACH bank transfer payments (US customers only). — https://www.freshbooks.com/accept-payments (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)
  7. FreshBooks charges 6% plus $0.30 per transaction for Buy Now, Pay Later payments. — https://www.freshbooks.com/accept-payments (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)
  8. FreshBooks charges an additional 1.5% transaction fee for its Instant Payout option. — https://www.freshbooks.com/accept-payments (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)
  9. FreshBooks' Select plan (custom pricing, contact-sales only) offers preferred/discounted credit and debit card processing rates over the standard 2.9%+$0.30, but the page does not disclose the actual discounted percentage. — https://www.freshbooks.com/accept-payments (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: not_found)
  10. QuickBooks Online's Simple Start plan costs $38 per month at regular (non-promotional) price. — https://quickbooks.intuit.com/pricing/ (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: unverified)
  11. QuickBooks Online's Essentials plan costs $85 per month at regular (non-promotional) price. — https://quickbooks.intuit.com/pricing/ (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: unverified)
  12. QuickBooks Online's Plus plan costs $140 per month at regular (non-promotional) price. — https://quickbooks.intuit.com/pricing/ (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: unverified)
  13. QuickBooks Payments charges 2.99% per transaction for invoice, recurring, and quick-request payments made with cards or digital wallets. — https://quickbooks.intuit.com/payments/payment-rates (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: unverified)
  14. QuickBooks Payments charges 1% per transaction for ACH bank payments on invoices. — https://quickbooks.intuit.com/payments/payment-rates (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: unverified)
  15. QuickBooks Payments charges 3.5% per transaction for manually keyed-in card payments. — https://quickbooks.intuit.com/payments/payment-rates (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: unverified)
  16. QuickBooks Online offers free ACH bill-pay, but charges $0.50 per standard ACH transaction once a business exceeds its monthly free allotment. — https://quickbooks.intuit.com/pricing/ (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: unverified)
  17. QuickBooks tells merchants processing more than $2,500 per month to call about qualifying for up to 25% off standard rates — the discount is not automatic and the resulting rate is not published. — https://quickbooks.intuit.com/payments/ (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: unverified)
  18. Wave's Starter plan is free ($0/month). — https://www.waveapps.com/pricing (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)
  19. On Wave's free Starter plan, accepting a credit card payment on an invoice costs 2.9% plus $0.60 per transaction (3.4% plus $0.60 for American Express). — https://www.waveapps.com/pricing (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)
  20. Wave's Pro plan costs $19 USD per month billed monthly. — https://www.waveapps.com/pricing (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)
  21. On Wave's paid Pro plan, the first 10 credit card transactions each month waive the $0.60 flat fee, charging only 2.9% (3.4% for Amex) per transaction, before the standard $0.60 flat fee resumes. — https://www.waveapps.com/pricing (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)
  22. Wave charges 1% per transaction (with a $1.00 minimum fee) for ACH/EFT bank payments on invoices, the same rate on both the Starter and Pro plans. — https://www.waveapps.com/payments/bank-payments (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)
  23. FreshBooks includes its Advanced Payments (Virtual Terminal) add-on at no extra charge on the custom-priced Select plan, versus a $20/month add-on fee on Lite, Plus, and Premium. — https://www.freshbooks.com/pricing (verified on: 2026-08-19, confidence: verified)